Zilla Parishad chairperson elections: BJD gets it in 18 districts while BJP in 8 districts of Odisha , Congress manages just 2 districts


Bhubaneswar, Mar 14: Following the Zilla Parishad chairperson elections, BJD was able to grab the position in Sundargarh and Nabarangpur. Including it, the party has formed Zilla Parishads in 18 districts while the BJP has formed it in eight districts. On the other hand hopeful of securing the chairperson post in Rayagada, Congress will be able to form Zilla Parishads in two districts. As not a single party had gained majority in Sundargarh, Nabarangpur and Rayagada, the districts were in focus during the chairperson elections. The calculations of BJP were proved wrong by the BJD as it won the post in Sundargarh. While the BJD was four seats short from the magic figure, it was able to form the parishad with support of five members of Congress and members of CPI and George Sena. Emma Ekka was elected as the Zilla Parishad chairperson. Similarly BJD also captured the ZP chairperson post in Nabarangpur. While the three parties Congress, BJD and BJD were contesting for the post, BJD ran ahead with 11 votes. Bhagbati Bhatra was elected as the ZP chairperson. Congress was sure to win the Rayagada ZP chairperson post constituting of 22 zones. Congress candidate Purusottam Gomang was one vote ahead of BJD candidate by getting 10 votes. According to sources, cross voting was alleged here. BJP was able to win the Gajapati Zilla Parishad chairperson seat. As the post was reserved for Scheduled Cast women, both BJD and Congress did not have any such candidate, so the seat went to Anitarani Behera of BJP. In Kandhamal, BJD was one vote short from the magic number, but after getting support of independent candidate Ranjan Mallik was able to form Zilla Parishad. Akansha Pradhan became the new chairperson here. Because of the stay order of High Court, Zilla Parishad chairperson elections were not held in Malkangiri and Nuapada.

Also Read  NALCO CMD meets Governor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here