7549 villages have been electrified till date: 


New Delhi: May 02: 104 villages have been electrified across the country during last week (from 25th April to 1st May 2016) under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY).

Out of these electrified villages, 17 villages belong to Arunachal Pradesh , 17 in Assam, 16 in Jharkhand, 10 in Rajasthan, 4 in Bihar, 4 in Chhattisgarh, 16 in Odisha , 7 in Madhya Pradesh, 4 in Manipur ,7 in Uttar Pradesh and 2 in Himachal Pradesh .

In view of the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi’s address to nation, on Independence Day, Government of India has decided to electrify remaining 18,452 unelectrified villages within 1000 days i.e. by 01st May, 2018. 

7,549 villages have been electrified till date. Out of remaining 10,903 villages, 444 villages are uninhabited.  7,059 villages are to be electrified through grid, 3,003 villages to be electrified through off- grid where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers and 397 villages are to be electrified by State Govt own. Total 1654 villages were electrified during April 2015 to 14th Aug 2015 and after taking initiative by Government of India for taking it on mission mode, 5,895 additional villages have been electrified from 15th August 2015 to 1st May ,2016.   In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis  like reviewing the progress on monthly basis during the RPM meeting, sharing of list of villages which are at the stage of under energization with the state Discom, identifying the villages where milestone progress are delayed.

Also Read  Mumbai Congress alleges Rs 1,767 cr land scam by Fadnavis


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here