Biennial elections to be held on November 9 to fill 11 Rajya Sabha seats

Biennial elections to be held on November 9 to fill 11 Rajya Sabha seats

Bhubaneswar: October 13: The term of office of 11 members of the Rajya Sabha elected from Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand is due to expire on their retirement in November, 2020.

Term of office of Rajya Sabha Member Chandrapal Singh Yadav, Javed Ali Khan, Arun Singh, Neeraj Shekhar, PL Punia, Hardeep Singh Puri, Ravi Prakash Verma, Rajaram, Ramgopal Yadav, Veer Singh, and Raj Babbar shall expire on November 25.

Raj Babbar is the Rajya Sabha member from Uttarakhand while others were elected from Uttar Pradesh.

The biennial elections will be held on November 9 to fill 11 Rajya Sabha seats in two states, which will fall vacant with the retirement of incumbent lawmakers in November, the Election Commission of India said on Tuesday.

The poll notification will be issued on October 20 and October 27 is the last date for filing of nominations. 28th October is the date for scrutiny of nominations.

Last date for withdrawal of candidatures is 2nd November’2020.
The voting will be held between 9 am and 4 pm, and counting of votes taken up at 5 pm on November 9. The Commission will complete the election process before November 11.

The Commission has directed that for the purpose of marking preference(s) on the ballot paper only integrated violet colour sketch pen(s) of pre-fixed specification, provided by the Returning Officer, shall be used. No other pen shall, under any circumstances, be used in the above said elections.

The Commission has also directed the Chief Secretaries concerned to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections.

Also Read  4,18,536 prisoners in different jails in country

Broad Guidelines to be followed during entire election processes for all persons:-

I.          Every person shall wear face mask during every election related activity

II.         At the entry of hall/ room/ premises used for election purposes:-

(a) Thermal Scanning of all persons shall be carried out

(b) Sanitizer shall be made available at all locations

III.        Social distancing shall be maintained as per the extant COVID-19 guidelines of the State Govt. and Ministry of Home Affairs.

Further, the Commission has also appointed the Chief Electoral Officers concerned as Observer of the election in the respective States.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here