India to launch 25 foreign satellites from 7 countries this year


New Delhi, March 11: India will launch 25 foreign satellites belonging to seven countries, with the USA topping the list in 2016-17, Rajya Sabha was informed on Thursday.

In written response to a question, Jitendra Singh, Minister of State in Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) which looks after the Department of Space, said till date 57 foreign satellites from 21 countries have been launched using the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV).

He said Antrix – the commercial arm of ISRO – has signed agreements with Algeria and Canada for launching three satellites each, four for Germany, one each for Japan and Malaysia and 12 for the USA in 2016-17.

In the last three years, from January 2013 till December 2015, ISRO launched 28 foreign satellites belonging to 13 countries, with Singapore, the United Kingdom and the USA topping the list. ISRO earned 80 million euros for the launch.

Also Read  Ayodhya title dispute; SC allows Swamy to intervene


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here