Maharashtra Opposition vows to ‘uproot’ BJP-Sena

Maharashtra Opposition vows to 'uproot' BJP-Sena
Nanded: NCP chief Sharad Pawar and Maharashtra Congress president Ashok Chavan during a rally ahead of the Lok Sabha polls in Maharashtra's Nanded on Feb 20, 2019. (Photo: IANS)

Nanded (Maharashtra): February 20: Kicking off the 2019 Lok Sabha election campaign, the UPA allies on Wednesday vowed to “uproot” the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv sena in the Centre and state.

Accusing them of “ruining and wrecking” the state and country, speakers from various parties raised the slogan ‘Bahut hui Jumlonki Maar, Ab Badlo Modi Sarkar’ – amidst loud cheers from a huge gathering here on Wednesday evening.

Organised by the Congress, today’s rally at the Indira Gandhi Maidan saw participation of top stalwarts from the Nationalist Congress Party, Peasants & Workers Party, Peoples’ Republican Party and other partners.

Starting by paying homage to the CRPF troopers killed in the recent Pulwama attack in Jammu & Kashmir, speakers attacked the ruling BJP-led NDA for its various acts which have ruined the country’s economy and resulted in huge unemployment.

The speakers attacked the government for resorting to casteist and communal politics, exploiting farmers, the poor and other sections of society for its own political survival.

The speakers included top leaders of various parties like state Congress President Ashok Chavan, Naseem Khan, Manikrao Thakre, Madhukarrao Chavan and others.

From the allies, there were NCP President Sharad Pawar, state party chief Jayant Patil, Leader of Opposition (Council) Dhananjay Munde, former Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal, and others.

Today’s rally will be followed by another mega-rally organized by NCP on Feb. 23 in Beed.

The two rallies shall serve to be a curtain-raiser for the UPA’s major pre-election gathering in Dhule on March 1, to be addressed by Congress President Rahul Gandhi and other top leaders. (IANS)

Also Read  Rafale deal: Congress will bring to justice all those who dishonoured: Rahul