Odisha CM orders to lockdown five disticts and eight major towns of State


Bhubaneswar: March 22: Five Districs and Eight major towns of Odisha will be locked down from March 22 to March 29.

Chief Minister of Odisha said, ‘Wuhan which is the nerve centre has no more infections today. They made people stay at home and come out only for essential services.’

‘There is no cure for this virus. The only cure is prevention. It is only if you go out of your home that you may bring the virus to your home and your neighbourhood.’

Also, we have more than 3000 people who have returned from foreign countries. They are advised fore home quarantine. A majority of them belong to the districts of Khurda, Cuttack, Ganjam, Kendrapara, Angul and towns of Puri, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda, Balasore, Jajpur Town, Jajpur Road and Bhadrak. So, in the first phase, we are going for a near complete lockdown in all these areas from 7am of 22nd March to 9pm of 29th March.

CM Naveen Patnaik said, ‘I humbly request you to stay at home and come out only for basic services’.

Hospitals, clinics, medical shops, grocery shops, restaurants (only takeaways and home deliveries) vegetables, meat and milk shops/bread and bakery (but selling of tea and other beverages in the same premises have to be closed), Railways, Bus stands Airports will be open as also Public Transport.

Administration, Police, Health, Fire, ODRAF, Electricity, Water, Municipal Services, Banks, ATMs, Petrol pumps shall remain open along with private establishments that support the above services or are linked to the fight against coronavirus.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here