ULC students shine at law school meet


Bhubaneswar, Dec. 22: Mallikarjun Khare of the School of Law, Christ University, Bengaluru was adjudged the best Moot Court speaker while the University Law College, Bhubaneswar secured top honours in five events at the four- day 3rd All India Law School Meet organized by the SOA University which concluded on Sunday night.

The School of Law, Christ University, also finished second in the Moot Court event which was won by KIIT University, Bhubaneswar. Students from the V.M. Salgaokar College of Law won the Parliamentary Debate competition.

Ten different law schools from all over the country participated in the competition hosted by the SOA National Institute of Law (SNIL). The hosts did not participate in the competitions.

The University Law College of Bhubaneswar topped in the Legal Drafting, Dance, Poster, Drama and Fashion Show competitions while M S Law College, Cuttack won the song competition as well as the ‘Create 2 Entertain’ event.

Students from the National Law University, Odisha at Cuttack finished first in the Trial Advocacy event as well as the 1-2-1 Debate. Sheikh Sultan Aadil Haque of NLUO was adjudged the best speaker in Trial Advocacy. Participants from Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirapalli, lifted the first prize in the quiz competition.

Dr Justice BR Sarangi and Dr Justice DP Choudhury, judges of the Orissa High Court, attended the valedictory function with the former urging the law students to make a judicious choice as to whether they should head for the bar or opt for jobs in the corporate sector.

Joining the bar would provide the students the opportunity to nurture their talent, Justice Sarangi said.

Also Read  Home guard thrashed by miscreants, dies in Odisha

Justice Choudhury urged the students to have a positive attitude towards life, develop communication skill and acquire knowledge through intensive study to make a mark as legal practitioners.

Vice-Chancellor of SOA University Prof. Amit Banerjee presided over the function. Prof Jayadev Pati, Dean of SNIL, Prof PK Patnaik and Dr Madhubrata Mohanty Associate Professor, also spoke.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here