West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee wins from Bhabanipur


October 3

Mamata Banerjee wins from Bhabanipur

Mamata Banerjee won from Bhabanipur assembly constituency in South Kolkata. In the bypoll, she defeated her nearest rival Priyanka Tibrewal of BJP by a record margin of 58,832 votes.

Earlier, She had won from this seat by a margin of 54,213 votes in 2011.

With this win Banerjee secured her position as the chief minister of West Bengal.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee secured 84,709 of the total 1,17,875 votes, while Tibrewal secured 26,350 votes and CPI(M) candidate Shreejib Biwas managed to get only 4,201 votes.

Election to Bhawanipur Assembly Constituency was necessitated because Sovondeb Chattopadhyay who won from Bhabanipur had resigned to make room for Mamata Banerjee.

Banerjee who lost to Suvendu Adhikari in the assembly election had to win within six months to retain her position as the chief minister of the state.

In two other constituencies – Jangipur and Samserganj, the Trinamool Congress candidates have maintained their lead, sources said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here