YATS concludes; Odisha CM felicitates 20 winners of 10th edition of YATS


Bhubaneswar, Dec 14: Yesterday on the occasion of the birth anniversary of legendary astronomer, Pathani Samanta, the Tata Steel in collaboration with Pathani Samanta Planetarium had organized a function where the Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik felicitated 20 winners of the 10th edition of Young Astronomer Talent Search (YATS) Programme-2016-17.

These 20 winners will be taken to an exposure visit to one of the facilities of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in 2017 by Tata Steel. The eminent personalities who were present at the event were Higher Education, Science and Technology and Rural Development minister Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy, Kailash Chandra Sahoo, Director, Pathani Samanta Planetarium and Arun Misra, Vice President, Project Gopalpur, Tata Steel and Managing Director, Tata Steel SEZ and Chanakya Choudhary, Group Director, Corporate Communication and Regulatory Affairs, Tata Steel.

After conducting a 4-month long task of finding out the 20 best young talent in Odisha, YATS finally concluded yesterday. This 10th edition of YATS had witnessed participations in essay and quiz competitions from 34,000 students coming from 300 different schools located in 27 districts of Odisha. YATS is organised every year to acknowledge the phenomenal contribution of Pathani Samanta, and encourage the youth of today to showcase their hidden talents in scientific innovation and concepts on various themes of space science and astronomy.

Also Read  All villages to get electricity by Mar 2017: Odisha CM


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here