Dutee chand in the limelight again: Wins 100m in IGP


Odisha’s ace sprinter Dutee Chand attained tremendous victory by covering 100m track in 11.51 seconds in the Indian Grand Prix- I Athletics at the Netaji Subhash National Institute of Sports (NIS), Patiala on Thursday.

She own the first place comfortably in 11.51 seconds despite having a Olympic record of 11.15 seconds in the same 100m. AT Daneshwari from Karnataka holds the seconds place  in 11.86 seconds while Diandra Dudley Valladares from Maharashtra holds the third place in 11.97 seconds.

On the other hand, Odisha’s Amiya Kumar Mallick hold the third position in 10.89 seconds. Maharashtra’s Krishnakumar Satish Rane won the 100m race in 10.68 seconds. While Muhammad Anas Yahiya from Kerala holds the seconds position in 10.70 seconds.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated  both the athlete Dutee and Amiya Mallick after winning the 100-metre race at the Indian Grand Prix through his own twitter handle and wished them for the future endeavours, on Thursday.

The players have been tested by the Anti-Doping agency before the Summer Olympic 2021, which will be held later this year.

The results (Men):-

200m: 1. Arokia Rajiv (Tamil Nadu) 21.40 seconds; 2. Shashank Shinde (Chhattisgarh) 22.21; 3. Sunil Jat (Rajasthan) 22.26.

400m: 1. P Naganathan (Tamil Nadu) 47.32 seconds; 2. Angrej Singh (Haryana) 47.59; 3. Gajanand Mistry (Gujarat) 47.97.

800m: 1. Ankesh Chaudhary (Himachal Pradesh) 1:52.82 ; 2. Devender Kumar (Haryana) 1:53.20; 3. Surender Chahal (Haryana) 1:57.02.

5000m: 1. Kishan Narsi Tadvi (Maharashtra) 14:52.70; 2. E Nagaraja (Karnataka) 18:48.41.

400m Hurdles: 1. Ayyasamy Dharun (Tamil Nadu) 51.33 seconds; 2. Aftab Alam (Uttar Pradesh) 51.56; 3. K Sathish (Tamil Nadu) 52.12.

Long Jump: 1. Yugant Singh (Uttar Pradesh) 7.62m; 2. Sahil Mahabali (Haryana) 7.59; 3. R Swaminathan (Tamil Nadu) 7.30.

Triple Jump: 1. Eldhose Paul (Kerala) 16.56m; 2. Karthik Unnikrishnan (Kerala) 16.20; 3. Mohammed Salahuddin (Tamil Nadu) 15.77.

Shot Put: 1. Sahib Sahib (Delhi) 17.67m; 2. Juber Malik (Haryana) 16.96.

The results (Women):-

200m: 1. Anjali Devi (Haryana) 23.57 seconds; 2. Kaveri Laxmana Gouda Patil (Karnataka) 24.45; 3. Subha Venkatesan (Tamil Nadu) 24.59.

400m: 1. MR Poovama (Karnataka) 53.45; 2. Kiran Pahal (Haryana) 54.88; 3. Nancy (Haryana) 55.40.

800m: 1. Chanda (Delhi) 2:04.91; 2. Lili Das (West Bengal) 2:97.03; 3. Urvashi (Haryana) 2:14.76.

Long Jump: 1.Marena George (Kerala) 6.11m; 2. Sonu Kumari (Haryana) 5.69m; 3. Tanushree (Rajasthan) 5.54.

Shot put: 1. Kachnar Chaudhary (Rajasthan) 14.38m; 2. Tunlai Sameswar Nazary (Assam) 13.62; 3. Rimpy Dabas (Delhi) 9.44.

Discus Throw: 1. Suravi Biswas (West Bengal) 48.97m; 2. Jhuma Basu (West Bengal) 44.20.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here