Former Ministers, MLAs yet to vacate Govt quarters


Bhubaneswar, March 29: As many as 12 former legislators and ministers continue to occupy government quarters allotted to them during their tenures while as many ministers and MLAs occupy more than one government quarters, the State Assembly was informed on Monday.

The State government has asked the Assembly Secretary to get these houses vacated, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said in reply to a question of BJP’s Dillip Ray.

The Chief Minister said those who occupy more than one government house include the Deputy Speaker, Government Chief Whip, Four Ministers and the Leader of Opposition.

The Chief Minister said Deputy Speaker Sanand Marandi, BJD Chief Whip Anant Das and Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra occupy their MLA colony residences despite being allotted bigger accommodation in other parts of the State capital.

Legislator Maheswar Mohanty occupies two quarters in the MLA colony, he said in his reply.

As a result seven MLAs have not been able to move into the quarters allotted to them, Patnaik said.

He said legal proceedings have been initiated since 2014 against three former ministers of his cabinet, including Sarojini Hembram who has since been elected to the Rajya Sabha, as they have not vacated the accommodations.

A case has been initiated against former Minister Pradipta Kumar Nayak since 2009 for not vacating his quarters, he said.

Similarly, MP Ramchandra Hansda, who is in jail in Chit Fund scam, has also not vacated his quarters while former legislators Pratap Sarangi, Rajendra Dholkia, Rabi Mallick and Alekh Kumar Jena are yet to vacate the accommodation given to them, Patnaik said.

Also Read  149 students get OP Jindal scholarship


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here