Yeddyurappa’s resignation victory of democracy: Mamata

Mamata Banerjee. (File Photo: IANS)

New Delhi, May 19 (IANS) West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Saturday congratulated former Prime Minister and JD-S Chief H.D. Deve Gowda, party leader H.D. Kumaraswamy and the Congress after B.S. Yeddyurappa announced his resignation as the Karnataka Chief Minister before facing a crucial trust vote in the state Assembly, and called it a “victory of democracy”.

“Democracy wins. Congratulations Karnataka. Congratulations Deve Gowdaji, Kumaraswamyji, Congress and others. Victory of the ‘regional’ front,” Mamata tweeted.

Mamata’s remarks came just after Yeddyurappa announced his resignation in the Karnataka Assembly in an emotional speech, saying “the BJP didn’t get the numbers needed to prove majority in the House”.

The resignation comes two days after Yeddyurappa took oath as the 15th Chief Minister of the state.

The May 12 election across the state in 222 constituencies of the 225-member assembly, including one nominated, threw up a hung House, with no party securing majority. Polls in two constituencies were deferred.

Of the 222 seats, the BJP won 104, the Congress 78, the Janata Dal-Secular, 37 and one each was bagged by the Bahujan Samaj Party, the Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party and an Independent.

As JD-S leader H.D. Kumaraswamy won from both Channapatna and Ramanagaram segments, the party’s effective strength in the House was 36.

Also Read  Odisha celebrated International Museum Day:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here